SAA ’13: Day Three

SAA ‘13: Day 3

Morning:


This morning I took the dreaded ACA exam. If I passed, it would allow me to call myself a Certified Archivist. Felicia passed the exam a year ago so she knew how stressed I was feeling. The exam was a doozy but I feel that it went well.

Afternoon:


After the exam, we jetted off in the rain to visit the historic Cabildo ( the seat of rule for the spanish government in Louisiana). We had a fun time learning about the building and the history of Louisiana and it was worth getting a little wet.
Afterward, we took the trolley back to the hotel. I really like the New Orleans trolley system but wish it would go to other places in town. 

In the evening, Felicia attend the Archon/Archivist Toolkit roundtable to scare herself about the new ArchivesSpace system that will replace Archon in the future. Felicia spent a year getting Archon implemented at Sam Houston, so she is not overly excited about ArchivesSpace.
I used the opportunity to meet with Colleen Theisen who runs the uispeccoll.tumblr.com and http://libralthinking.tumblr.com/. I had such a good time talking about tumblr that I forgot to get a picture for tumblr. She is really busting a move on tumblr with her miniature book gifs. I have mentioned it several times, but you should be following her.

Night:


We thought we would do something special for Wednesday night, so we chose swing dancing lessons. We travelled down to the Spotted Cat Jazz Club on Frenchman Street. Man that was a work out. We learned to do some west coast style swing dancing and the Charleston. I didn’t pick it up very quick like Felicia. I think I have two left feet but Felicia disagrees. We eventually ended up with something that looked like the Charleston. My advice is stretch and don’t wear vans.

On Day 4 the SAA ‘13 conference officially starts. I can’t wait!

20130815-224330.jpg

20130815-224336.jpg

20130815-224344.jpg

20130815-224350.jpg

Leave a Reply

